Can Obama fix it? Yes, we can!

by

So I’ve been putting this off for awhile now, but I wanted to share a few videos. I’m really interested in the last video, but the first couple help to set the mood.

Will.I.am’s “Yes, We Can” video – Directed by the fruit of Bob’s loins, Dylan of course. Had to find some way to get “Bob” in there… (If the acoustic guitar bothers you, but somehow a Capella doesn’t, try this)

Those concerned about the origins of the slogan “Yes, we can” can check out the Pointer Sisters version or the use of “Yes, we can” in Tartarstan or the Ceasar Chavez/Dolores Huerta/United Farm Workers here.

I first listened to the Will.I.am track a few weeks and millions of hits ago, the John McCain parodying versions also here then became fun for awhile, but got old very quick (not intended to be a comment.)

But then I made one of the big mistakes of my life and decided to listen to the “Bob the Builder” theme song. A rookie mistake, I’ll admit. Anyone with children experience would know better. But it’s been five days since I had something other than “Can we fix it? Yes, we can!” in my head and felt it only fair to do the same to others. Remarkable the staying power of that theme song.

Let me know about annoying videos that are stuck in your head, so hopefully I can stop singing Bob the Builder incessantly in my head every time I hear Barack Obama mentioned.

Mike Ellis
Columnist

Update, its now been more than an entire week (my whole freakin’ break!) and my only refuge from Bob the Builder is the even awfuller William Shatner’s “interpretation” of “Rocket Man.” Take that, brain!
P.S. the links actually work now!

Updated Update, I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else pick up on this yet, but in a 7th season episode (2005) of West Wing, the Democratic candidate finds out the Republican stole his slogan. Yes, you guessed it: “Yes, America can.” Close enough. They’re all active words, can and yes are as strong as you can get and we means together, so no one is surprised.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Can Obama fix it? Yes, we can!”

  1. incogman Says:

    Obama is but another Zionist tool, just like Hillary and McCain. Israel has already won the election, we just don’t know it yet.
    http://incogman.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

